Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/test/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Ireland Under 16 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
27.02.2006 at 19:00 Municipal Stadium, Beit She'an Attendance:
Israel 0 - 2 Ireland Under 16
Referee: Halim Zata Friendly / TS-match

None Craig Duggan (15)
Conor Mc Cormack (43)
Opening squads
Kieron Thorpe
Daniel Langan
Mark Nolan
Paul Honohan
David Joyce
Conor Mc Cormack
Dean Marshall
James O'Brien
Ian Daly
Craig Duggan
Michael Collins
Kevin O'Brien
Gareth Matthews
Shane O Connor
Niall Mc Ardle
James Doyle
Kurtis Byrne
Joe Collins
None Niall Mc Ardle -> Daniel Langan (51)
Shane O Connor -> Michael Collins (51)
Kurtis Byrne -> Ian Daly (71)
James Doyle -> Dean Marshall (75)
Gareth Matthews -> Mark Nolan (81)
Joe Collins -> Conor Mc Cormack (81)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
The Republic of Ireland took on Israel today in The Municipal Stadium, Beit She’an beside the Jordan River.

Israel dominated the early exchanges in this match and they held possession in the Irish half for the first ten minutes.

As the Ireland adjusted to the hot conditions they came more into the game and with 15th minutes gone they got the breakthrough.

A Michael Collins shot from 25 yards hit the upright and Craig Duggan reacted quickest to slot the ball home.

Urged on by the large home crowd, Israel almost equalized straight away. Kieron Thorpe turned a shot behind for a corner and from the resulting kick he got a hand to a strike from the edge of the box. The Israeli striker could only hit the post from the rebound five yards out.

David Joyce in the Irish defence made an important tackle in the 25th minute. Israel attempted to find a route to goal, but the Irish defence stood firm and penalty appeals were waved away by referee Halim Zatma.

Both sides continued to create changes and Craig Duggan nearly grabbed a second three minutes before the break. Duggan chested the ball down inside the box and was unfortunate not to connect properly with the shot as Mike Hen in the Israeli goal saved.

Israel earned a free-kick just outside the box in first half injury time but Thorp made a great save, getting down low to his right.

Ireland couldn’t have wished for a better start to the second half.

Three minutes in they went 2-0 up. The ball broke to Conor McCormack 20 yards out, and his strike lobbed over the Israeli keeper.

The Republic had chances to extend their lead with Ian Daly heading wide while Duggan had his header saved.

As the teams tired in the heat, there were scoring chances at both ends. Thorp again stopped the Israeli strike force getting on the score-sheet with a superb double save with 10 minutes to go.

Ireland almost made it three -nil with five minutes left. Kurtis Byrne shot just wide after a good Craig Duggan run and Duggan brought a good save out of the Israeli keeper shortly after.

Republic of Ireland manager Vincent Butler was very happy with his team’s performance. “We played very well and it was good performance overall. We got the goals at crucial times, the first was slightly against the run of play and the second at the start of the 2nd half damaged Israel”.

The Republic of Ireland U-16 face their Israeli counterparts again on Wednesday March 1st, K-O 14.00 hrs(local time)


1. Kieron Thorp
2. Mark Nolan (81mins)
3. Daniel Langan (51mins)
4. Paul Honohan
5. David Joyce
6. James O’Brien
7. Dean Marshall (75mins)
8. Conor McCormack (81mins)
9. Ian Daly (71mins)
10. Craig Duggan
11. Michael Collins (51mins)


12. Niall McArdle (51mins)
13. Gareth Matthews (81Mins)
14. Joe Collins (81mins)
15. James Doyle (75mins)
16. Kevin O’Brien
17. Shane O’Connor (51mins)
18. Kurtis Byrne (71mins)

Ireland :
Kieron Thorp
Mark Nolan (Gareth Matthews 81)
Daniel Langan (Niall McArdle 51)
Paul Honohan
David Joyce
James O’Brien
Dean Marshall (James Doyle 75)
Conor McCormack (Joe Collins 81)
Ian Daly (Kurtis Byrne 71)
Craig Duggan
Michael Collins (Shane O'Connor 51).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.