Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/test/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Under 21 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
15.11.2013 at 15:45 Showgrounds Attendance:
Under 21 5 - 2 Faroe Islands
Referee: Alexandr Aliyev (KAZ) European Qualifier / PROG-match

Samir Carruthers (17)
Aidan O Brien (20)
Jack Grealish (25)
Anthony Forde (39)
Aidan O Brien (42)
Zachariasen 26, 37 (Pen)
Opening squads
Anthony O Connor
Sean Mc Dermott
Shane Duffy
Sean Mc Ginty
Derrick Williams
Aidan O Brien
Callum Reilly
Anthony Forde
Samir Carruthers
Sean Murray
Jack Grealish
Teitur Gestson,
Bardur Hansen,
René Joensen,
Pál Joensen,
Ragnar Nattestad,
Tróndur Jensen,
Gilli Sørensen,
Brandur Olsen,
Hallur Hansson,
Gunnar Zachariasen,
Arni Fredriksber.
Joe Shaughnessy
Aaron Mc Carey
John O Sullivan
Michael Harriman
John Egan
Charles Dunne
William Hayhurst
Ari Ellingsgaard.
Sørmund Kalsø
Bogi Petersen
Charles Dunne -> Derrick Williams (63)
John O Sullivan -> Sean Murray (74)
William Hayhurst -> Aidan O Brien (82)
Bogi Petersen 46 for Jensen,
Ari Ellingsgaard 56 for Fredriksberg,
Sørmund Kalsø 84 for Zachariasen,
Yellow cards
None. B Olsen 41 mins,
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
Republic of Ireland U21 side beat Faroes in Sligo

Republic of Ireland U21s 5 Faroe Islands 2

THE Republic of Ireland U21 team secured a comfortable 5-2 victory over Faroe Islands in Sligo's Showgrounds this afternoon to keep their hopes of reaching the UEFA Championships play-offs alive.

Noel King's troops were in potent mood in a remarkable tie that saw seven goals scored in the first half. Ireland meet Montenegro in their next game on Tuesday and are level on seven points with the Montenegrins, who drew 1-1 with Germany today.

Samir Carruthers gave Ireland the lead in the 17th minute when he forced the ball past goalkeeper Teitur Gestson after a clever burst into the Faroese penalty area.

Aiden O'Brien produced an assured second goal three minutes later. The Millwall striker used good skill to beat a defender before slotting ball past the advancing keeper.

Jack Grealish capped an excellent individual performance when he headed Ireland's third goal in the 25th minute after connecting with a right wing cross by Anthony O'Connor.

The game then became a little more dramatic than expected when just 60 second later Gunnar Zachariasen produced a bit of quality to fire home for the Faroese from the edge of the box with a strike that found the net via an upright.

It was 3-2 in the 37th minute when the Faroese were awarded a spot-kick for a push by Shane Duffy on defender Ragnar Nattestad. Zachariasen firing home the penalty.

Ireland's response was a beautiful long range strike from Anthony Forde that flew into the top corner of the Faroese net in the goal of the net.

O'Brien then sent the Irish in 5-2 up at the break when he poked home in the 42nd minute after Duffy had headed down following a corner.

Duffy was unlucky not to score himself in the 52nd minute when keeper Gestson saved his close range effort.

Gestson made a top class save to deny Sean Murray in the 74th minute as the game ended tamely following all the excitement of the opening 45 minutes.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Sean McDermott, Anthony O'Connor, Sean McGinty, Derrick Williams (Charles Dunne 63), Shane Duffy, Samir Carruthers, Callum Reilly, Aiden O'Brien (Will Hayhurst 82), Sean Murray (John O'Sullivan 74), Anthony Forde, Jack Grealish.

FAROE ISLANDS: Teitur Gestson, Bardur Hansen, René Joensen, Pál Joensen, Ragnar Nattestad, Tróndur Jensen (Bogi Petersen 46), Gilli Sørensen, Brandur Olsen, Hallur Hansson, Gunnar Zachariasen (Sørmund Kalsø 84), Arni Fredriksberg (Ari Ellingsgaard 56).


UEFA U21 Qualifying Round Group 6

Friday, November 15

Republic of Ireland 5 Faroe Islands 2, Showgrounds, Sligo.

Tuesday, November 19

Montenegro v Republic of Ireland, Stadion Podgorica, Podgorica (MNE) (4.00pm Irish)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.