Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/test/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Under 21 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
05.03.2014 at 15:00 Tallaght Stadium Attendance:
Under 21 1 - 2 Montenegro
Referee: Nikolaj Hanni (SUI) Friendly / PROG-match

Matt Doherty (11)
Dordevic 75 mins,
Mugosa 77 mins.
Opening squads
Sean Mc Dermott
Sean Mc Ginty
Matt Doherty
John Egan
Shane Duffy
Anthony Forde
Aidan O Brien
Conor Smith
Jeff Hendrick
Sean Murray
Jack Grealish
M Vukcevic,
Aaron Mc Carey
Luke Byrne
Pierce Sweeney
Thomas Hoban
Liam Mc Alinden
Kenneth Mc Evoy
Mikey Drennan
Liam Mc Alinden -> Aidan O Brien (78)
Mikey Drennan -> Sean Murray (78)
Kenneth Mc Evoy -> Anthony Forde (82)
Gojacanin for Zoric 46 mins,
Radunovic for Bakic 90 mins,
A Vukcevic for Dordevic 90 Mins,
Yellow cards
Sean Mc Ginty (39)
Conor Smith (67)
Sean Mc Ginty (90)
Bakic 28 Mins,
Alic 62 mins,
Jankovic 84 mins,
Kosovic 88 mins,
Red cards
Sean Mc Ginty (90)
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview

Pictures from the match
Republic of Ireland 1 Montenegro 2

Noel King’s Republic of Ireland Under 21’s were unfortunate to lose at home to Montenegro in their UEFA European Championship qualifier at Tallaght Stadium.

A first-half header from Matt Doherty put Ireland in control of the game but two goals in the second period from Luka Dordevic and Stefan Mugosa saw the away team collect the three points.

It was a cruel blow for King’s team as they played so well in front of a strong crowd of 1,302, but they were denied a third win in Group 6 and must now plan for the September 5 trip to Germany.

Requiring a win to remain in contention for a play-off spot, Ireland started brightly with Connor Smith adapting to a midfield role alongside Jeff Hendrick impeccably and bursting forward at times.

It was Smith who registered the first attempt on goal on six minutes when stealing possession and blasting over the bar from distance. While off target, it was a positive first step for the home side.

From there Ireland began to dominate with Watford’s Sean Murray, who picked up the 3 FAI Under 21 Player of the Year award this week, leading by example with weaving runs, clever link-up play and accurate passing.

The opening goal actually came from a move started by the 20-year-old as his shot was deflected wide and from the resulting corner, delivered by Anthony Forde, the ball was powered in by Doherty on 11 minutes.

The Wolves man had lost his marker inside the penalty area and connected with the cross to open the scoring. Momentum was now in Ireland’s favour and they made the most of it with stylish patterns of play.

King’s 4-2-3-1 formation worked a treat as Jack Grealish continually found gaps in the Montenegro defence and went close with two efforts on goal before Murray blasted a shot over during a good spell.

The visitors were unable to create many scoring opportunities of their own, although Mugosa did screw a shot just wide before the interval. And they reacted upon returning by bringing on Nemanja Gojacanin.

Ireland, though, picked up where they left off with Jeff Hendrick forcing keeper Danijel Petkovic into a fine save on 63 minutes before the No 1 denied captain Shane Duffy and Forde in two quick-fire stops.

Montenegro then pulled level on 75 minutes when Dordevic found some space to roam into and drilled a shot past Sean McDermott. And they followed it up with a goal to take the lead when Mugosa headed in two minutes later.

King’s team could not find the goals to regain control despite their good play and with Sean McGinty sent off for collecting two yellow cards, they will and will now have to aim on finishing the qualifying campaign on a high.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: McDermott; Doherty, Egan, Duffy, McGinty; Hendrick, Smith; Grealish, Murray (McAlinden 78), Forde (McEvoy 82); O’Brien (Drennan 78).

MONTENEGRO: Petkovic; M Vukcevic, Alic, Bakrac, Bogdanovic; Zoric (Gojacanin h-t), Jankovic, Bakic (Radunovic 90), Kosovic; Mugosa, Dordevic (A Vukcevic 90).

Referee: Nikolaj Hanni (SUI).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.