Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/test/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Ireland Under 16 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
25.02.1998 at 19:30 Stangmore Park, Dungannon Attendance: 212
Belgium 1 - 2 Ireland Under 16
Referee: Md D Messina European Qualifier / PROG T/S-match

Chatelle 20 mins; David Mc Mahon (62)
David Warren (66)
Opening squads
T Myers;
C Neirinckx;
R Deckers;
S Degest;
K Nicolay;
K Geraerts;
D Vandecauter;
T Chatelle;
K Aelbrecht;
F Burgio;
G Poppe.
Joe Murphy
Ian Rossiter
Keith Foy
Jim Goodwin
John O'Shea
Andy Reid
Shaun Byrne
Brendan Mc Gill
Gary Dempsey
Liam Miller
David Mc Mahon
T Buffel;
L Struyven;
B Vandael;
H Corneliis;
T Troch;
J Hennart;
F Verdone.
Dan O'Connor
Brian O'Callaghan
Eric Molloy
David Warren
Kevin Grogan
Alan Martin
Dwayne Mattis
None David Warren -> David Mc Mahon (65)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Warren winner for Irish boys

Republic of Ireland 2
Belgium 1

The Republic of Ireland U-16 team remain on course for the European finals later this year after coming from behind to defeat Belgium in the Three Nations Mini Tournament in Dungannon last night.

Northern Ireland beat Belgium 1-0 earlier this week, so the qualification place for the European finals in Scotland will be decided when Northern Ireland play the Republic of Ireland in their game at Moranview Park, Lurgan tomorrow night.

Even though the Irish were having the better of the exchanges, Belgium took the lead after 20 minutes with a break away goal scored by Chatelle.

The Irish then took control and were deservedly rewarded in the second-half.
The match was won with two goals in a four-minute spell.

The Irish got back on terms after 62 minutes with a goal from Newcastle United's David McMahon. Three minutes later McMahon had to go off injured and was replaced by David Warren of Mayfield, Cork, who was not named in the original panel by manager Brian Kerr.

The Cork youngster was only in the game one minute when he scored the winner.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: J. Murphy (Tranmere Rovers), I. Rossiter (Galway United), K. Foy (Notts Forest), J. O'Shea (Waterford Bohemians), J. Goodwin (Celtic), L. Millar (Celtic), S. Byrne (West Ham United), G. Dempsey (Everton), B. McGill (River Valley Rangers), D. McMahon (Newcastle United), A. Reid (Nottingham Forest).

Sub D. Warren (Mayfield, Cork) for McMahon (65 mins).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.