Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/test/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Ireland Under 16 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
08.02.2010 at 16:00 Attendance:
Holland 3 - 1 Ireland Under 16
Referee: C. Bax. Albufeira 4 Nations Tournament / TS-match

Dillon (o.g.) 29 mins, Toorenburg 39, 42 mins, Philip Roberts (45)
Opening squads
Boy De Jong;
Rewien Ramlal,
Terence Kongolo,
Daan Disveld,
Bas Kuipers;
Thomas Horsten,
Adnan Bajic,
Kyle Ebecilio;
Danzell Panka,
Jordy Toorenburg,
Gyliano Van Velzen
Joseph Coll
Eoin Hyland
Luke Gallagher
Jamie Smith
Bradley Garmston
Kealan Dillon
Steven Smith
Ken Mc Evoy
Philip Roberts
Carel Tio Fack
Michael Drennan
Michael Hyland
Brandon Miele
Samuel Ade Odobe
Kieran Sadlier
Shane Griffin
None Samuel Ade Odobe -> Jamie Smith (54)
Kieran Sadlier -> Carel Tio Fack (70)
Brandon Miele -> Ken Mc Evoy (78)
Michael Hyland -> Kealan Dillon (80)
Shane Griffin -> Bradley Garmston (80)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Albufeira Under-16 4-nation tournament

Republic of Ireland 1 Netherlands 3

A brace of goals by Jordy Toorenburg on either side of the break were decisive on Monday as the Republic of Ireland lost their final game of the Albufeira 4-nation tournament at the Albufeira Stadium in the Algarve.

Following a nil-all draw against Italy and a narrow 0-1 loss to Portugal in their previous two matches at the tournament, Ireland were aiming to finish on a high and manager John Morling restored the nine players to the starting line-up who had played in the opening game of the event.

The Dutch were in the same position as Ireland, having drawn their opener against Portugal and lost 1-3 to Italy on Saturday.

With the Portuguese already assured of claiming the trophy by defeating Italy 3-1 earlier in the day, Ireland knew victory would land them the runners-up prize.

However, despite a bright opening when they had plenty of possession, the Netherlands were the more clinical of the nations and raced into a three goal lead early in the second half.

Their first goal on 29 minutes was harsh on the Irish. From a corner on the right, the ball was allowed run all the way to the back of the area where Kyle Ebecilio belted a low cross towards the six-yard box which Kealan Dillon attempted to clear but could only steer past his goalkeeper Joe Coll.

Four minutes later, Ireland thought they had forced an equaliser when a header by captain Jamie Smith floated over goalkeeper Boy De Jong towards the net only for defender Bas Kuipers to race back and clear off the line.

The Dutch produced the goal of the match a minute short of the break as striker Jordy Toorenburg steadied himself 30 yards from goal before firing a dipping volley beyond the back-peddling Coll in the Irish goal.

The second half had just started when Ireland were hit by another sucker-punch from ADO Den Haag forward Toorenburg who ghosted in and tucked a low shot into the far corner.

Three minutes later, Ireland pulled a goal back after Kenny McEvoy made a foray from into the box from the right-wing and fed Philip Roberts a low cross which he stroked home into bottom corner.

REP OF IRELAND: Joe Coll (Glenea Utd); Eoin Hyland (Belvedere), Steven Smith (Arsenal), Jamie Smith (Cherry Orchard), Bradley Garmston (West Bromwich Albion); Ken McEvoy (Villa, Waterford), Kealan Dillon (Belvedere), Carel TioFack (Ballincollig), Luke Gallagher (Cherry Orchard), Michael Drennan (Evergreen); Philip Roberts (Norwich City).

Subs: Sami Ade-Osobe (Glenmuir Utd) for J. Smith (54 mins), Kieran Sadlier (West Ham United) for TioFack (70 mins), Brandon Miele (Cherry Orchard) for McEvoy (78 mins), Michael Hyland (Millwall) for Dillon and Shane Griffin (Carrigaline Utd) for Garmston (both 80 mins)

NETHERLANDS: Boy De Jong; Rewien Ramlal, Terence Kongolo, Daan Disveld, Bas Kuipers; Thomas Horsten, Adnan Bajic, Kyle Ebecilio; Danzell Panka, Jordy Toorenburg, Gyliano Van Velzen.

Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.