Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/test/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Ireland Under 16 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
12.10.2010 at 15:00 Aprila Stadium Attendance:
Ukraine 0 - 1 Ireland Under 16
Referee: Tournament / DETAILS INCOMPLETE-match

None Gary O Neill (42)
Opening squads
Jack Grealish
Sam Byrne
Gary O Neill
None None.
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Ukraine 0 - 1 Republic of Ireland

Gary O Neill was Irelands match-winner in the Aprilla Stadium where they passed up several chances of emphasising their superiority over the hosts, Ukraine.

O Neill struck two minutes into the second half of the match to help Ireland produce their best football and dominate the game.

Adam Wixted helped set up the goal with a run down the left and a cross into the penalty area. Sam Byrne deceived the defence by letting the ball run and O Neill came in behind him to score his third goal in the last three matches.

Ireland were close to a second after 55 minutes when Byrne was released beyond the defence and drove his shot past the goalkeeper. But he was frustrated as the ball rebounded off an upright.

Ukraine had the ball in Irelands net only to be whistled back for offside and this was a sharp reminder for Ireland that the opposition were dangerous on the break.

Jack Grelish showed his skill as he danced his way past a couple of defenders before he tumbled in the box but the referee waved aside claims for a penalty.

The referee then awarded Ireland a penalty after Grelish was upended again two minutes later. But Ireland spurned the chance as Byrnes attempt spun away off the top of the crossbar.

Republic of Ireland U16 squad: Shane Fagan, Sean Long, Sean Coyne, Dan O Reilly (all Cherry Orchard), Kyle McFadden (Swilly Rovers), Dylan McGlade (Shelbourne), Darragh Murphy (Rockmount), Sam Byrne and Dylan Hayes (St. Josephs), Gary O Neil (Kingdom Boys), Adam Wixted (Stella Maris), Thomas Mulroney (Crumlin Utd), James Mullaney (Portlaoise), James McGrath (Nenagh), Jason Lyons (Barna Utd), Jack Grelish (Aston Villa), Eric Grimes (Ringmahon Rangers), Ryan O Reilly (BallyjamesDuff).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.