Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/soccerscene/www/test/ss_gen/matchdetails.php on line 15
Statistics: Ireland Under 16 [Powered by tplSoccerStats]
Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
04.11.2022 at 14:00 RSC Waterford Attendance:
Ireland Under 16 4 - 1 Scotland
Referee: Thomas Joyce Under 16 Victory Shield / *T/S-match

Ike Orazi (5)
Mason Melia (9)
Niall Mc Andrews (57)
Matthew Moore (pen.) (79)
Ronan Ferris 30 mins,
Opening squads
Joe Collins
Egor Vassenin
Kaylem Harnett
Taylor Mc Carthy
Luca Cailloce
Richard Vodo
Matthew Moore
Niall Mc Andrews
Mason Melia
Ike Orazi
Matt Murray
Alfie Halliwell,
Jack Wyllie,
Cameron Scott,
Ronan Ferris,
Aidan Borland,
James Wilson,
Jack Fletcher,
Joshua Mc Donald
Tyler Fletcher,
Sam Chambers,
Lewis Pirie
Marcus Gill
Fiachra Coffey
Luke Mulligan
James Roche
Sean Moore
Ronnie Gorman
Luke O Donnell
Afi Adebayo
Darragh Marshall
Kyle Fitzgerald
Ollie Ecrepont,
Finlay Hale,
Aidan Mc Ginlay,
Gregor Burn,
Gus Stevenson,
Josh Landers,
Josh King
Marcus Gill -> Joe Collins (41)
Sean Moore -> Richard Vodo (56)
Kyle Fitzgerald -> Ike Orazi (76)
Luke O Donnell -> Niall Mc Andrews (80)
Darragh Marshall -> Mason Melia (80)
Burn for Wyllie 41 mins,
Chambers for Hale 41 mins,
Stevenson for Mc Donald 66 mins,
King for Pirie 66 mins
Landers for Boland 75 mins,
Yellow cards
None. None
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
The Republic of Ireland Men's Under-16s have clinched a third Victory Shield title after a resounding 4-1 win over Scotland in Gruan Park, Tramore.
4th Nov 2022

First-half goals from Shamrock Rovers’ Ike Orazi, St Patrick’s Athletic’s Mason Melia, Derby County’s Niall McAndrew and a penalty from Bohemian’s Sean Moore gave Ireland an emphatic win over the Scots.

Ireland have now won three Victory Shield titles since entering the tournament in 2015 with today's title a first since 2016. Paul Osam’s side had won their two previous games over Wales and Northern Ireland on penalties earning four points, so they knew only a win over Scotland – who had six points – in normal time would bring home the Victory Shield.

Ireland starting the game in scintillating fashion. Melia broke from midfield and played it to Orazi who stroked the ball into the bottom corner beyond Alfie Halliwell in the fifth minute.

Four minutes later Melia found the net when he diverted Niall McAndrew’s effort into the bottom corner as Ireland cruised into a two-goal lead.

Scotland struck back when Lewis Pirie’s effort hit the post and Ronan Ferris fired home the rebound in the 30th minute. The visitors got much more control of the game but Ireland had a great chance to restore their two-goal lead in the 36th minute when Orazi was sent through on goal, he rounded the goalkeeper but Cameron Scott did superbly to clear off the line.

In the second half McAndrew had a great chance when his curling effort looked to the top corner but It hit the stanchion behind the goal and rippled the wrong side of the net.

But he'd find the right side of the net in the 57th minute when he struck a first-time effort beyond Halliwell to put Ireland into a commanding 3-1 lead.

In the final minute Ireland were awarded a penalty after Kyle Fitzgerald was brought down and Moore slotted it past Halliwell to secure the title for the Boys in Green.

Speaking after the tournament, Republic of Ireland Men’s Under-16 Head Coach Paul Osam said: “We finished off with a stunning performance and from one to twenty two, each of the players have contributed to this tournament. It’s about the players’ development and winning is a bonus but don’t get me wrong it’s a special feeling.

“It’s great for the boys as well and it’s special to win it here in Ireland in the beautiful city of Waterford. The people have been fantastic with us all week.

"I’d like to thank my staff who have been amazing all week and it’s great to be able to celebrate this win together.”

Republic of Ireland: Collins (Gill, 41), Harnett, Callicoe, McCarthy, Vassenin, M.Moore (C), McAndrew (O’Donnell, 80), Vodo (S. Moore 56), Orazi (Kavanagh, 76), Murray, Melia (Marshall, 80)

Scotland: Halliwell, Wyllie (Burn, 4!), Scott, Ferris, Borland (Landers, 75), Wilson (C), J. Fletcher, McDonald (Stevenson, 66), T. Fletcher, Chambers (Hale, 41), Pirie (King, 66)

Referee: Thomas Joyce

2022 Victory Shield Results

Sunday, October 30
Republic of Ireland MU16 2-2 Wales MU16 (Ireland win 5-4 on penalties)
Northern Ireland MU16 1-3 Scotland MU16

Tuesday, November 1
Republic of Ireland MU6 1-1 Northern Ireland MU16 (Ireland win 3-1 on penalties)
Scotland MU16 3-2 Wales MU16

Friday, November 4
Republic of Ireland MU16 4-1 Scotland MU16
Wales MU16 0-2 Northern Ireland MU16
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design

Site Design and Hosting by DriverWebDesign.